Best smart trainer for 29er MTB

Where to ask questions on riding skills, training, nutrition, and bike repair

Best smart trainer for 29er MTB

Postby BLOOMIS914 » January 21st, 2018, 1:05 am

Just like the title says. I am looking for 1st hand experience for the latest Smart Trainer(s) for 29er MTB. I own 3 29ers - No Road bikes. I have never used a trainer before but want to stay active through the winter in my basement workout room. Thanks in advance.
BLOOMIS914

Re: Best smart trainer for 29er MTB

Postby galaxydean » January 22nd, 2018, 7:45 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-3-6KDu1fY I have been investigating these myself. Thought this vid might be helpful.
dean
galaxydean

Postby c0nsumer » January 22nd, 2018, 8:31 am

Consult DC RainMaker: https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2017/10/ann ... tions.html

Your biggest concern for an MTB is axle type.
Steve Vigneau
CRAMBA-IMBA Treasurer

Unless otherwise stated the content of my posts are my opinion and should not be taken as the official stance of, nor representative of, CRAMBA-IMBA.
c0nsumer

Postby mmba7614 » January 22nd, 2018, 9:15 am

I've attempted to used my Kickr ... but beware. The 148 Axle adapters rub my Trek ProCal frame. Wahoo is cool about it, and they are sending newly machined adapters, but it would be cooler if it just worked.

Another issue with "SmartTrainers" and mountain bikes in virtual rides (not workouts, but rides) is that you will totally Spin Out. I don't know about other trainers ... but if you are "into" Zwift or something of the sort, I like the Kickr, as I can connect Zwift via ANT+ and then also the Wahoo App via Bluetooth. This allows me to compensate for the 42T ring on my mountain bike by adding "virtual headwind" from the Wahoo app. This works. Would be nice if Zwift built this kinda thing in, though. It kinda sucks having that complexity for group rides or free rides.

**edit** I'm not that big of a stud.

--Compensate for 42T ring on CX bike, or the 34T ring on MTB-- lol.