Metro Parks Trail?

For discussing Motor City Mountain Biking Association (formerly Metro South chapter) topics.

Metro Parks Trail?

Postby Dave L » March 16th, 2010, 3:48 pm

I am new to the concept of trail proposals so forgive my ignorance. I live downriver and do a lot of traveling to the trails we all enjoy. I was recently road riding Lower Huron and Willow and couldn't help but wonder if there is a possiblity of an off-road trail system in the Metro Parks. Has this been explored? Sure would like a trail downriver and this huge stretch of land seems to have room. I know it would be popular. Any thoughts?
Dave L

Re: Metro Parks Trail?

Postby froggyrider » March 18th, 2010, 8:22 am

Hi, Dave,

That sounds intriguing. I know the 275 path gets folks down that way, but it is pavement.

Do you know anyone at those parks who we could talk to? I know it is low land that may flood easily, but I am sure there are some stretches that would be nice.

Let me know if you know anyone at the parks to talk to. We sure could use more trails down that way, and if folks are interested in pursuing this, that would be great.

Claudia
froggyrider

Location: I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy. Dorothy Parker

Postby wingzz » March 18th, 2010, 9:19 am

Typically HCMP has been resistant to adding MTB trails to their parks, the only one that allows off road biking is Stony Creek.
There is a new director at HCMP and she might be more receptive to adding off road bike trails to more HCMP parks but I don't think anyone has approached her on this yet, John Gonway or Marne should have a contact name there if you want to see if there would be interest in this
I do know the director at indian springs has expressed interest in adding trails to that park, and Kensington has stated they would be willing to listen to a proposal if we want to put something together
I'm sorry I do not remember her name at the moment but John or Marne should know her name